Ash Class 2021 - 2022

Miss Parkinson

Class Teachers: Miss Parkinson

Teaching Assistants: Mrs Wilkinson and Mrs Cockcroft


Welcome to Ash Class, also known as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is part of Key Stage 1.

Please click on the tabs at the top of the page to see what we are learning.

Daily Routine

Drop off time: 8.45am 

Drop off point: Gates to KS1 yard

Lunchtime: 12.00-1.00pm

Collection time: 3.30pm

Collection point - EYFS outdoor provision

Key Person

You will have received a letter informing you of the name of your child’s Key Person.  This adult is a named practitioner who is there to help your child  develop confidence and feel safe and secure in school.      Please feel free to speak to your child’s Key Person, or any member of the EYFS team, if there is anything you would like to discuss or share with school.  If your child develops new interests at home, please do let us know so that we can use that information to promote learning.

Curriculum in EYFS

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and early years’ professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. Your child’s attendance in the Reception class at St James’ Church of England Primary School forms the final phase of this initial stage of your child’s learning journey.

At St James’ we aim to provide learning experiences that are happy, active, exciting and fun – supporting children in their crucial early development and learning needs.

The Early Years curriculum is called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. It contains seven areas of learning and development.

Prime areas of learning:

1. Communication and language
2. Physical development
3. Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas of learning:
1. Literacy
2. Mathematics
3. Understanding the world
4. Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning activities.

At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the Reception year in school – teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile.

It states whether your child has reached expected levels in the seven areas of learning at the end of the Reception year. These expectations are called the Early Learning Goals (ELGs). It also describes your child’s attainment in the three essential characteristics of learning:

· playing and exploring;
· active learning;
· creating and thinking critically.


St James' Lanehead C of E Primary School(1).png



Important Documents

Files to Download

Ash Class: News items

There are no News items to display

Ash Class: Gallery items

There are no Gallery items to display

Ash Class: Calendar items

INSET Day, by Miss Whiteside

INSET Day, by Miss Whiteside

About Us

St James' LaneheadCofE Primary School

St James’ Lanehead is a Church school with a big heart and a passion for its community. At St James’ Lanehead we all pride ourselves on acting with dignity and integrity.

Let's Connect

St James' Lanehead Primary SchoolBriercliffe Road, Burnley BB10 2NH

Jade Bradleyschool Business Manager

01282 426833

Michelle Dugdale | Headteacher

Claire Ashton | SenCo